Concerto Competition


Concerto Competition 2018 Finalists (in alphabetical order):

Belinda Chen 
F. Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21

Xue Maxine Gong 
F. Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25

Ga Eun Lee 
W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 25 in C major, K. 503

Prizes will be awarded the night of the Grand Finale (June 24, 2018).

The concerto competition is open to all participants. During the application process participants are invited to indicate their willingness to apply for the Concerto Competition. A link to a recording of one movement from the listed concerti (either with orchestral or piano accompaniment) must be sent no later than April 20, 2018 to Also, participants have the option to compete with up to two movements (even from different concerti) by simply submitting two links.

Up to four winners will be selected. Each of them will perform one movement from the piano concerti listed below with the Bellini Symphony Orchestra at the Teatro Massimo Vincenzo Bellini in Catania, the historical Opera House named after the composer Vincenzo Bellini. The theater, which seats 1,200, was inaugurated on May 31, 1890 with a performance of the composer’s masterwork, Norma.

Winners of the Concerto Competition will be notified by May 1, 2018.

For the 2018 edition, AmiCaFest will focus on the following Piano Concerti:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
All Piano Concerti (except No. 20 in D minor, K. 466)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15
Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 19
Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73 “Emperor”

Frédéric Chopin
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11
Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21

Robert Schumann
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54

Concerto Competition 2017 Winners:

First Prize: Jina Jang (USA)
W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 13 in C major, K. 415

Second Prize: Artun Miskciyan (Turkey)
W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 12 in A major, K. 414

Third Prize: John Tobias Thomas-Rose (USA)
W.A. Mozart: Rondo in A major, K. 386